Continuing Education
Home

2017 Webinars


Effects of Elevated Sugar and PUFA Intake on Exercise Performance: Time to Revisit Nutrition Guidelines?

Presenter: Catherine Shanahan, MD

Date: Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Time: 3 to 4 pm ET (12 pm to 1 pm PT)

Registration closes Monday, February 13 at 5 pm ET (2 pm PT)

REGISTER TODAY

Program Summary:

Our intake of soy oil has increased over 1000 fold in the last centrury, in keeping with advice from experts who have advised reduced animal fat consumption and placed no limit on plant-based seed oils. Additionally, sports nutrition guidelines have been based on an assumption that sugar is the perfect fuel for athletes. Vegetable oils and sugars together now compose 80 percent of the average American’s caloric intake. But recent medical investigative work suggests political interests may have had undue influence on development of the modern American diet. For this reason, the physiologic effects of following these guidelines deserve a closer look.

Learning Objectives:

  1. Composition of the average American diet

  2. Summary of medical investigative work revealing industry influence on development of nutrition guidelines

  3. Impact of meal timing and frequency on hormones and fuel availability

  4. Potential problems from seed-oil derived PUFA fat consumption

  5. Benefits of ketones for muscle energetics    

About the Presenter:

Cate Shanahan M.D is a board-certified family physician. She trained in biochemistry and genetics at Cornell University before attending Robert Wood Johnson Medical School. For ten years, she practiced medicine in Hawaii, where she studied ethnobotany and the culinary habits of her healthiest patients. She currently runs a metabolic health clinic in Denver, Colorado and serves as the Director of the Los Angeles Lakers PRO Nutrition Program.

REGISTER TODAY